Full width home advertisement

Travel the world

Climb the mountains

Post Page Advertisement [Top]

Team Ceeref, with Sebastien Col, Remains the Best RC 44 Match Race Team
Photo by Nico Martinez, www.nicomartinez.comPuerto Calero, Canary Islands:
Winner of last years' match race champio
nship, the Slovenian team Ceeref started the 2009 championship in unknown - yet very reliable - hands with substitute driver Sebastien Col.
The French match race champion proved to be the right person, leading his new team to victory and dominating the tournament by winning all of his matches. The conditions were once again light and irregular today in Puerto Calero, and Race Officer Peter "Luigi" Reggio did his very best to conclude the round robin before the night, changing the course constantly to match the wind direction changes. The first flight of the day - the fourth altogether - finally started at 1:30 PM after numerous postponements. Both Team Aqua and No Way Back had fairly easy rides against BMW ORACLE Racing (penalised by a premature start) and Organika.As for Artemis and Ceeref, they had to contain the attacks of the two Spanish entries, Puerto Calero Islas Canarias 1 and 2, sailing aggressively and keeping in touch with the best. Led by Philippe Presti, team No Way Back was still unbeaten at this stage, which is a great achievement considering the fact that it is their first RC 44 regatta. The rest of the day proved however to be harder for them. Match-race, final results:
(Name of team, helmsman, No of victories / defeats, points)
1. Ceeref, Sebastien Col, 7/0 - 7 points
2. Team Aqua, Cameron Appleton, 5/2 - 5 points
3. BMW ORACLE Racing, Russell Coutts, 5/2 - 5 points
4. Artemis, Torbjorn Tornqvist, 4/3 - 4 points
5. No Way Back, Philippe Presti, 4/3 - 4 points
6. Puerto Calero Islas Canarias 2, Carlos Morales, 1/6 - 1 point
7. Team Organika, Karol Jablonski 1/6 - 1 point
8. Puerto Calero Islas Canarias 1, Jose Maria Ponce, 1/6 -0 point (incl. one penalty)


No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]

| Designed by Colorlib