Full width home advertisement

Travel the world

Climb the mountains

Post Page Advertisement [Top]

Line-up for the starts to take shape 2009 Audi MedCup Circuit.

The 2009 Audi MedCup Circuit starts on May 12th with the City of Alicante Trophy. With the team registration period now open, seventeen teams, both TP52 and GP42, have shown interest in competing on the world's leading regatta circuit, which this year is made up of five events in four European countries.
“A fleet of 17 teams from 10 different countries and the best international crew shows just how much the Audi MedCup has consolidated, and how it has become widely recognised as the Circuit par excellence,” indicates Ignacio Triay, Audi MedCup Circuit Director.

“This can be deemed a success, especially in a year where the current global economic climate is having a negative effect in all areas; sports sponsorship in general and in that of sailing in particular.”

11 TP52 to compete for the City of Alicante Trophy

11 TP52s from nine countries will race for the The City of Alicante Trophy, including a new team: Emirates Team New Zealand, formed by the America’s Cup syndicate and skippered by Dean Barker. For the first time a New Zealand team will compete on the Circuit and have to go up against 10 other teams who have all proved their domination over the TP52.

The three winning boats from the 2008 edition of the Audi MedCup Circuit will compete once again. They will be joined at the start line by a strong international fleet of TP52s. Following on from last year’s final standings, the American Quantum, entrusted to Terry Hutchinson to defend their title as champion; the Spanish boat, Bribón, second in 2008, will be skippered by leading helmsman Thierry Peponnet; Matador, the Argentinian team, will be led by Guillermo Parada; Artemis, will be led by Sweden’s Torbjorn Tornqvist; Spain’s Desafío returns at the hands of the very experienced Paul Cayard; the Italian Audi Sailing Team will be skippered once more by Riccardo Simoneschi; Cristabella, the British entry, will be led by John Cook; Synergy from Russia will have two lead helmsmen, Valentin Zavadnikov and Sergey Pchugin; Afonso Domingos returns to skipper the Portuguese entry, Bigamist; Valars from Russia will be led by Sergei Shetsov. With this spectacular fleet, racing promises to be just as intense as that witnessed in 2008.

The full list of confirmed pre registered entries for the opening event of the 2009 Audi MedCup Circuit in TP52s, including nationality and skipper, is the following:

  • Artemis (Sweden) - Torbjorn Tornqvist
  • Audi Sailing Team (Italy) - Riccardo Simoneschi
  • Bigamist (Portugal) - Afonso Domingos
  • Bribón (Spain) - Thierry Peponnet
  • Cristabella (United Kingdom) - John Cook
  • Desafío (Spain) - Paul Cayard
  • Emirates Team New Zealand (New Zealand) - Dean Barker
  • Matador (Argentina) - Guillermo Parada
  • Quantum Racing (United States)- Terry Hutchinson
  • Synergy (Russia) - Valentin Zavadnikov/Sergey Pchugin
  • Valars (Russia) - Sergei Shetsov

The full list of confirmed pre registered entries for the opening event of the 2009 Audi MedCup Circuit in GP42s, including nationality and skipper, is the following:

  • Airis (Italy) – Roberto Monti
  • Caser-Quum (Spain) – Javier Goizueta
  • Madrid About Sailing (Spain) – José María van der Ploeg
  • Islas Canarias Puerto Calero (Spain) – Daniel Calero
  • Roma 2 (Italy) – Filippo Faruffini
  • Swing (Japan) – Keisuke Suzuki
source: http://2008.medcup.org/home/
(all photos are from 2008 MedCup)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]

| Designed by Colorlib