Full width home advertisement

Travel the world

Climb the mountains

Post Page Advertisement [Top]

Melges 32photoWorld Championship

Audi Melges 32 Worlds in Porto Cervo

Congratulations to the very first Melges 32 World Champion, American Pieter Taselaar on USA-169 Bliksem with Jeremy Wilmot on tactics and crew of Nathan Wilmot, Williem Van Waay, George Peet, Paul Atikins, Michael Coxon and Alex Clegg. This amazing team has come a long way since the 2009 Miami Grand Prix, Audi Sailing Series Events in Scarlino and Cagliari, only to arrive in Porto Cervo and win the World Championship.
In second and third overall is Giovanni Maspero on ITA-999 Joe Fly and Armando Guilietti helming ITA-1 Uka Uka Racing for Lorenzo Santini tied with equal points. Originally leading the event, Claudio Recchi on ITA-93 Team 93 had a tough last couple days in the competitive arena leaving him in fourth overall.
Although disappointment ran deep last evening following a major protest from Taselaar against Claudio Recchi on ITA-93 Team 93, in which Taselaar won, there was still a heated battle for the second place overall position. Recchi, in second by one point over Guilietti, both went into the day's one and only race, putting spectators on the edge of their seats for the start. The light and shifty air tested the fleet, mixing up the rounding with Wolfgang Stoltz on GER-205 Opus One in first, Maspero, then Edoardo Lupi on ITA-487 Torpyone. Maspero dialed the race in to round the final mark in first, Stolz now in second and in third, Luigi Melegari on ITA-161 Matrix. Maspero blasted downwind for the win, Melegari took second and in third, Stolz.
The Bliksem team did not sail today. Instead they celebrated honors last night at Yacht Club Costa Smeralda that held a fabulously lavish buffet dinner and party in honor of the event.
Top Ten Results (After 10 Races)
1. Pieter Taselaar, Bliksem; 43
2. Giovanni Maspero, Joe Fly; 54
3. Armando Guilietti/Lorenzo Santini, Uka Uka Racing; 54
4. Claudio Recchi, Team 93; 55
5. Jason Carroll, Argo; 75
6. Vincenzo Onorato, Mascalzone Latino; 80
7. Francesco Martino, Pilot Italia; 81
8. Andrea Cecchetti, Bagua; 83
9. Joe Woods, Red; 84
10. Filippo Pacinotti, Brontolo; 85
Full results at: www.yccsresults.com/melges32_09/melg32.htm

No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]

| Designed by Colorlib