Full width home advertisement

Travel the world

Climb the mountains

Post Page Advertisement [Top]

Sydney Hobart Race


Andy Saies' Two True survived a protest this afternoon to be confirmed as overall winner of the Tattersall's Cup, the major prize in the 2009 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race for the overall IRC handicap winner.
TWO TRUE (AUS/SA), Andrew Saies, IRC overall handicap winner, Photo credit: Rolex / Kurt Arrigo / Daniel Forster
After a two-hour hearing, the International Jury dismissed the protest entered by the Inglis 39 She's the Culprit (Todd Leary), the Hobart yacht damaged in a crush of boats approaching the first rounding mark after the race start on Sydney Harbour.
Two True, one of the first new Farr-designed Beneteau First 40 stock production racer/cruiser to be imported into Australia, won IRC overall by 42 minutes from another new First 40, (Mike Welsh) after a close race-long duel in which they followed a similar strategy - stay well east of the rhumbline.
- ALFA ROMEO (NZ), Neville Crichton, line honours and winner IRC 0 division. Photo by: Rolex / Daniel Forster
- RAN (UK), Niklas Zennstrom, winner IRC 1 division. Photo by: Rolex / Daniel Forster
Ian Mason's Sydney 38 Next, in third place, another 1hr 19min behind, was similarly pushed by close competition in the six-boat Sydney 38 fleet racing one-design, as well as on IRC handicap. Another Sydney 38, Swish (Steven Proud) from the strong Sydney fleet, was fourth and Tony Kirby's Jeppersen X-41 Patrice Six, fifth.
In sixth place was the 2009 Rolex Fastnet Race winner Ran (Niklas Zennstrom), from the UK.
Two True, from the Cruising Yacht Club of South Australia, is the first yacht from South Australia to win the Tattersall's Cup since Kevan Pearce's win with SAP Ausmaid in 2000. The South Australians continue to be strongly committed to the Rolex Sydney Hobart Race, sailing 1000 nautical miles just to get to the start.
NEXT, Ian Mason winner IRC 3 division. Photo by: Rolex / Daniel Forster
Owner-skipper Saies said he was absolutely elated at the win after being in the surreal situation of not knowing the outcome until after the protest hearing. "Obviously we are very happy with the jury's decision. We believe we did everything in the circumstances to avoid significant damage to the other boat. We gave our intention to protest, we did a 720 (degree penalty turn), though the damage to the other boat was minor and superficial."
IRC overall:
1. Two True (Andy Saies, SA), Beneteau First 40, 04 days 07hr 57min 43sec;
2. Wicked (Mike Welsh, Vic), Beneteau First 40, 04:08:39:08;
3. Next (Ian Mason, NSW), MBD Sydney 38, 04:09:48:54.
IRC 0:
1. Alfa Romeo (Neville Crichton, NZ), Reichel Pugh 100, 04 days, 12hr, 11min, 51sec;
2. Evolution Racing (Ray Roberts, NSW), Farr Cookson 50, 04:14:32:46;
3. Ichi Ban (Matt Allen, NSW), Jones Volvo 70, 04:16:27:22.
IRC 1:
1. Ran (Niklas Zennstrom, UK), Judel/Vrolijk 72, 04:10:48:21;
2. Shogun (Rob Hanna, Vic), J/V 52, 04:13:09:50;
3. Ragamuffin (Syd Fischer, NSW), Farr TP52, 04:15:18:43.
IRC 2:
1. Tow Truck (Anthony Paterson, NSW), Ker 11.3, 04:11:16:18;
2. AFR Midnight Rambler (Ed Psaltis/Bob Thomas), modified Farr 40, 04:11:26:24;
3. Chutzpah (Bruce Taylor, Vic), Reichel/Pugh IRC 40, 04:14:06:32.
IRC 3:
1. Next Ian Mason, NSW), 04:09:48:54;
2. Swish (Steven Proud, NSW), 04:10:17:42;
3. Patrice Six (Tony Kirby) Jeppersen X-41, 04:10:24:32.
Sydney 38 One Design:
1. Swish, 04:00:16:54;
2. Next, 04:00:16:59;
3. Subzero Goat (Bruce Foye, NSW), 04:06:37:59.
ORCi (ORC International):
1. Two True (Andrew Saies, SA), Beneteau First 40, 04:07:57:43;
2. Wicked (Mike Welsh, Vic), Beneteau First 40, 04:08:39:08;
3. Zephyr Hamilton Elevators (James Connell/Alex Brandon, NSW), Farr1020, 04:10:52:17.
Performance handicap:
PHS 1: 1. Wasabi (Bruce McKay, NSW), Sayer 12m, 04:19:02:33;
2. Sailors with disAbilities (David Pescud, NSW), Lyons 54, 04:21:26:15;
3. Mahligai (Murray Owen/Jenny Kings, New Zealand), Sydney 46, 04:21:26:15.
PHS 2:
1. She (Peter Rodgers, NSW), Olsen 40;
2. Flying Fish Arctos (A.Fairclough, NSW), McIntyre 55, 04:13:41:02;
3. Namadgi (Canberra Ocean Racing Club, ACT), Bavaria 44, 04:16:12:30.
Official race website: For more information about the Rolex Sydney Hobart 2009 including the entry list and results, please visit the event website at www.rolexsydneyhobart.com

No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]

| Designed by Colorlib