Full width home advertisement

Travel the world

Climb the mountains

Post Page Advertisement [Top]

finnWorld Championship

Ed Wright Wins Finn Gold Cup

Ed Wright (GBR) put a wrong to right today in winning the Finn Gold Cup in San Francisco.
It has been an enigma of the class that the former world number one had never won a world title. He had come close on a number of occasions, but this week in San Francisco, he put together an incredibly consistent and winning performance to take the Finn world title in the best possible way by dominating and winning the medal race.
Rafa Trujillo (ESP) took the Silver while Giles Scott (GBR) took the Bronze. The big question for the medal race was whether second placed Rafa Trujillo (ESP) would go for gold or protect silver. It was obvious within minutes what his strategy would be as he stuck to third placed Giles Scott (GBR) like glue and covered his wind all the way round the course. Scott was faster downwind and broke through twice but he couldn't gain enough boats to take the silver medal from the Spaniard.
Meanwhile, the regatta leader by 13 points, Ed Wright (GBR), won the pin end start and powered away, never headed during the entire race. He initially headed to the left and then crossed back to the middle without ducking a single transom. He rounded the top mark just ahead of Gasper Vincec (SLO), Zach Railey (USA), Thomas Le Breton (FRA), Brendan Casey (AUS), Mark Andrews (GBR), Andrew Mills (GBR), Trujillo, Ivan Kljakovic Gaspic (CRO) and Scott.
With Scott in last place Trujillo had done his work well. At the prizegiving tonight at the St Francis Yacht Club, under the shadow of the iconic Golden Gate Bridge, Ed Wright received the Finn Gold Cup, first presented in 1956 at Burnham-on-Crouch in the UK.
This famous trophy is full of the names of legends of the class and now one more legend has been added to this list. It is what all Finn sailors aspire to and what all sailors everyone recognise as an outstanding accomplishment.
Final results (top 10 from 87)
1. Edward Wright, GBR, 22
2. Rafael Trujillo, ESP, 53
3. Giles Scott, GBR, 56
4. Zach Railey, USA, 59
5. Thomas le Breton, FRA, 72
6. Gasper Vincec, SLO, 94
7. Andrew Mills, GBR, 107
8. Ivan Kljakovic Gaspic, CRO, 107
9. Mark Andrews, GBR, 110
10. Brendan Casey, AUS, 112

No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]

| Designed by Colorlib