Full width home advertisement

Travel the world

Climb the mountains

Post Page Advertisement [Top]

laserWorld Championship

Πρώτος ο Μπουγιούρης στο Laser Masters World Championship

Hayling Island, UK: After delivering a week of unbroken sunshine and pleasant light to moderate sea-breezes for the Laser Standards World Championships which finished eight days ago on the same waters with an impressive overall victory for Australia's Tom Slingsby, today Hayling Bay presented version 2.0 of English summer when more than 350 sailors from 30 different countries contested the first pair of races of the 2010 Laser Masters World Championships.
Under grey skies which threatened rain and offered regular showers of drizzle, solid WSW'ly winds which gusted to over 22 knots during the second race, and big Hayling waves which proved the perfect downhill run for those practitioners with polished technique and solid nerves, but it was all too easy to be slightly psyched out by the opening day waves weather.
Those who had been looking for a gentle introduction to Hayling Island, a sunny reprise of the Standard Worlds, would have been disappointed. The muscular conditions certainly challenged fitness and stamina from the outset but also contributed to the early onset of aches and pains, not to mention a few broken spars and fractured egos.
For sure it was those who felt at home, or were at home in the conditions who excelled across the first two contests of the scheduled 12 race series, on both the Laser Radial and the Laser Standard course areas.
Top three standings after two races:
Radial Apprentice (35-44yrs)

1. Scott Leith, NZL, 3 points
2. Jean Christophe Leydet, FRA, 4
3. Matthias Bruehel, GER, 7
Radial Masters (45-54yrs)
1. Steve Cockerill, GBR, 2
2. Carlos Eduardo Wanderley, BRA, 4
3. Torbjorn Jonsson, SWE, 9
Radial Great Grand Masters (Over 65)
1. David Schmidt, NZL, 4
2. Keith Wilkins, GBR, 4
3. Peter Seidenburg, USA, 9
Standard Apprentice:
1. Adonis Bougiouris, GRE, 2
2. Brett Beyer, AUS, 4
3. Orlando Gledhill, GBR, 4
Standard Master:
1. Arnoud Hummel, NED, 2
2. Scott Ferguson, USA, 4
3. Andy Roy, CAN, 5
Standard Grand Master:
1. Peter Vessella, USA, 2
2. Peter Sundelin, SWE, 5
3. Wolfgang Gerz, GER, 5

No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]

| Designed by Colorlib