Full width home advertisement

Travel the world

Climb the mountains

Post Page Advertisement [Top]

Ben AinslieISAFMatch Racing

ISAF World Match Race Rankings

The new ISAF Match Racing World Champion and 2010 world Match Race Tour winner Ben Ainslie (GBR) has today also claimed the top position in the open rankings for the first time in his career. Nicky Souter (AUS) maintains her position at the top of the women's rankings.
Ben Ainslie's progress up the open rankings has been sure and steady. In December 2009 he was at #8 and since July 2010 has been poised at #2, ready to pounce on long term leader Adam Minoprio (NZL).
Third overall in Malaysia was Jesper Radich (DEN) who has stood on the podium at all four World Tour events he has sailed at this year. Radich moves up eleven places to #20.
The Berlin Match Race was the only Grade 1 open event since the last ranking and this was won by Bjorn Hansen who went to finish fourth in Malaysia. Hansen moves two places up the rankings to #6.
Three ISAF Grade 2 open events took place in this period; the Mumbai International Match Race, the Sunseeker Australia Cup and the Carlos Aguilar Match Racing Championship in the US Virgin Islands. Laurie Jury (NZL) won in Mumbai and also finished sixth at the Carlos Aguilar and he subsequently climbs twelve places to a lifetime best of #27.

Nicky Souter (AUS) maintains her position at #1 but with the smallest of margins.
Claire Leroy (FRA) swaps places again with Lucy MacGregor (GBR) to return to #2 just three points behind Souter.
Anna Tunnicliffe (USA) and Renee Groeneveld (NED) remain at #4 and #5 respectively The women's match racing events counting to this ranking release includes just one ISAF Grade 1 event, the Busan International Match Race.
The Busan title went to Claire Leroy who defeated Katie Spithill (AUS) in the final Results from two ISAF Grade 2 events, the Ladies Only Match Race in Hamburg, Germany and the Women's Carlos Aguilar Match Racing Regatta, are also counting points.
The next release of the ISAF World Match Race Rankings will be in February 2011.

ISAF World Match Race Rankings Top ten open rankings:
1. Ben Ainslie, GBR
2. Adam Minoprio, NZL
3. Mathieu Richard, FRA
4. Torvar Mirsky, AUS
5. Ian Williams, GBR
6. Bjorn Hansen, SWE
7. Pierre-Antoine Morvan, FRA
8. Francesco Bruni, ITA
9. Philip Robertson, NZL
10. Peter Gilmour, AUS
Top ten women's rankings:
1. Nicky Souter, AUS
2. Claire Leroy, FRA
3. Lucy Macgregor, GBR
4. Anna Tunnicliffe, USA
5. Renee Groeneveld, NED
6. Ekaterina Skudina, RUS
7. Katie Spithill, AUS
8. Anne-Claire Le Berre, FRA
9. Genevieve Tulloch, USA
10. Sally Barkow, USA

No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]

| Designed by Colorlib