Full width home advertisement

Travel the world

Climb the mountains

Post Page Advertisement [Top]

Adam MinoprioBen AinslieMatch RacingWMRT

King Ben wins the Monsoon Cup & and the World Championship!

A thrilling five race final at the 2010 Monsoon Cup, which is the ninth and final event on the ISAF World Match Racing Tour.Ben Ainslie and TEAMORIGIN demonstrated why they are champions completing the double, securing both the 2010 ISAF Match Racing World Championship and the Monsoon Cup.
Sailed from the purpose built Ri-Yaz Heritage Marina Resort and Spa in Kuala Terengganu in Malaysia, the Monsoon Cup is the richest event on the Tour card and has on offer more points than any other Tour event.
Coming into this event a lot was a stake – the Monsoon Cup 2010 and the ISAF Match Racing World Championship.
Ben Ainslie and TEAMORIGIN Lift the WMRT Trophy © Photo Subzero Images, WMRT
Mathieu Richard (French Match Racing Team) came into the regatta with a large Tour Championship lead. Defending ISAF World Champion Adam Minoprio (ETNZ/BlackMatch Racing) was chasing hard and mathematically, three others skippers were also in World title running.
The last few days have produced exciting match racing out on Pulau Duyong. The conditions have been mainly light and tricky, torrential Monsoon rains swelling the river and producing current, testing skippers and tacticians alike.
Earlier, on this final day, Ben Ainslie and his TEAMORIGIN crew – Iain Percy, Christian Kamp, Matthew Cornwell and Mik
e Mottl, became the new ISAF Match Racing World Champions.
After choosing Richard as his quarter final opponent, Ainslie went about demolishing the French skipper leaving Richard with a very slim hope of taking the World title. Richard had to finish fifth or higher in the Monsoon Cup to take the win. Defeat in the sail-offs ended that hope.
Ben AInslie during his five-race final against Torvar Mirsky. Photo: Subzero Images,WMRT
The Final of the Monsoon Cup got underway in about 12-14 knots of breeze. The rain stopped and the sun finally showed through the clouds.
In the Petite Final, Danish skipper Jesper Radich (Gaastra Racing Team) defeated Sweden’s Bjorn Hansen (Hansen Global Team) 2-0.
Radich, with three second places i
n his three starts this season (Argo Gold Cup, Stena Match Cup and Match Cup Germany) finished third at the Monsoon Cup, taking home a share of the considerable prize money.
Monsoon Cup 2010 Final Results:
Monsoon Cup Champion 2010 -
Ben Ainslie (TEAMORIGIN) defeated Torvar Mirsky (Mirsky Racing Team) 3-2.
Petite Final:
Jesper Radich (Gaastra Racing Team) defeated Bjorn Hansen (Hansen Global Team)

The final quote of the day came from Adam Minoprio, the 2009 ISAF Match Racing World Champion and Monsoon Cup winner:

"Congratulations to Ben and his Team, they have sailed well all year. They have shown they are indeed World Champions."

Final World Match Racing Tour Standings: 1. Ben Ainslie (GBR) TEAMORIGIN 126
2. Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team 111
3. Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team 106
4. Adam Minoprio (NZL) ETNZ/BlackMatch Racing 90
5. Ian Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar 87
6. Jesper Radich (DEN) Gaastra Racing Team 82
7. Francesco Bruni (ITA) Azzurra 65
8. Peter Gilmour (AUS) YANMAR Racing 60
9. Björn Hansen (SWE) Hansen Global Team 45
10. Magnus Holmberg (SWE) Victory Challenge 29

No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]

| Designed by Colorlib